A Sonnet for Tim Hortons (And Just Generally Cafes On Campus)

(Original poem: “How do I love thee? Let me count the ways” or “Sonnet 43” by Elizabeth Barrett Browning)

How do I love Timmies? Let me count the ways.

I love thee by thy scent and warmth and sight

My soul revived in morn, when my lover (Sleep) and I fight,

And thy gentle steam swirls surround my face.

I love thee for thy motherly role each day,

Most deep needs cared for with each bite.

I love thy comfort, when exams bring fright;

I love thy taste – timeless, without phase.

I love thee with each TCard use,

My inability to cook has brought us near;

I love thee with a love I can never lose,

With thy loveliness, thee mustn’t even fear.

Smiles from your employees confirm what I choose,

I shall but love thee each day of each year.

 

But seriously, the people that are working at every food place on campus work really hard and deserve special thanks from all of us. The joys and comfort that coffee, ridiculously delicious donuts, and other food items bring us are things that we can experience because there are people that are spending time and serving it to us, often with big smiles and a lot of cheer despite how tired they might be. Be sure to thank these lovely people with smiles, too!

Leave a Reply

