Anything That Can Go Wrong…

At some point, you’ve probably heard someone refer to Murphy’s Law: “Anything that can go wrong, will go wrong.” This past weekend, I saw this law in action.

I hadn’t been getting involved with much for the three weekends since school started, so I decided that this weekend would be different. I ended up going to three different events this weekend: Hindu Student Council & UTMSU’s movie night on Friday, Nuit Blanche on Saturday, and I signed up last-minute to volunteer for Run For the Cure on Sunday. They were all fantastic events, but I ended up having some interesting adventures along the way.

At Nuit Blanche, I along with some other students kept getting separated from the group for some strange, unknown reason. At first, my friends and I thought it was funny, but we probably should have realized that this tendency wasn’t about to stop and that someone in this ever-drifting group should probably have some way of contacting people in the main group. We didn’t. And of course, we ended up completely losing the group at one point.

Since we didn’t really know our way around downtown Toronto, we decided to actually be smart and use technology to figure out how to get back to Hart House before the bus back to UTM left. There was quite a bit of confusion along the way. Are we going the right way? Is this the right stop on the subway? If the road outside of Hart House is blocked off then where would the bus pick us up? What if the bus left already? Why didn’t we see this coming? We got to Hart House at 12:57 and the bus was supposed to leave at 1. We had no idea if the bus had left and we were trying to figure out what our most practical options were if it did. We finally found the group, and proceeded to turn into popsicles with them. Why? Because our bus driver was 40 minutes late.

The next day I was going to volunteer at Run For the Cure and my shift started at 7AM. So when we finally got back to UTM from Nuit Blanche, I tried setting my alarm for 5:55. Here’s a good lesson: never set an alarm when you’re absolutely exhausted and half asleep. I set my alarm for 6:55 and woke up panicking. And of course, I didn’t have time to really think things through so I wore shoes made of cloth in a field of grass that was wet with dew on a particularly cold morning. Smart move, right?

And yet, I would be lying if I said I didn’t have fun this weekend.

The art exhibitions at Nuit Blanche were brilliant, from a beautiful “rainbow” of laser lights extending from Chinatown to the CN tower, to videos, performances, and more. Then we got lost downtown and ended up wondering what we hadn’t seen in that hour (half a cow, drunk people passed out on the street, some questionable clubs, to name a few). I may have been freezing and exhausted at Run For the Cure, but it was amazing to see so many people come out and support an important cause. And honestly, seeing little doggies dressed in pink boas, tutus, and shirts everywhere made my day instantly because they’re JUST SO CUTE!!!!!

So, even when everything seems to be going wrong, it’s probably just the universe making your life a bit more interesting for a little while. I mean, experiencing all of that was definitely better than spending my weekend the same way I spend my weeks: drowning in textbooks and notes for midterms.

How are you spending your weekends?

Leave a Reply

